A Guide to the Chakra Symbols

Chakra Symbols

The Chakras are the 7 spiritual energy hubs that exist within our body. Many people are aware of the basics surrounding Chakras, but even those who practice Chakra cleansing and Chakra meditation may be unsure of the Chakra symbols meaning and how it connects to our use of these energy hubs today. What are the 7 chakras colors and what they represent… Discover them now!

What do the 7 chakras represent?

By breaking down each symbol, we can explore the specifics of each location in order to better understand how we can keep each Chakra clear and provide each one with positive energy in order to avoid our mind, body, and spirit being negatively impacted.

Chakra Symbols

We’ll look at each Chakra in turn, exploring the Matras (both noise and thoughts), elements, colors, and names of each one.

Crown Chakra

The first of the Chakra symbols that we’re going to explore is the Crown Chakra, which rests at the top of your head, exactly where a crown would sit:

  • Color: Violet
  • Element: Space
  • Mantra: Silence (I am one with the universe)

Would you like to know who your Protective Guardian Angel is?

In order to get in contact with your Guardian Angel and receive your FREE ANGEL READING, please fill out this form:


Contact Details

By clicking below, I confirm that I have read the Privacy Policy and I accept the legal terms.

Depending on who you ask, some people believe that this spiritual hub is actually located slightly above the head and instead represents the location where the jewel within a crown would sit.

The other name, and also the symbol of the Crown Chakra is Sahasrara. Through the incorporation of a circle, this symbol represents the oneness of the universe and all beings within it. Surrounding it are the leaves of a lotus flower which represent eternity and prosperity.

Third Eye Chakra

The second of the Chakra symbols we’re going to explore connects to the Third Eye Chakra, which is located just above the middle point between your eyebrows: around the lower, middle section of your forehead:

  • Color: Indigo
  • Element: Time
  • Mantra: Aum (My spirit is true, and I trust in myself)

This Chakra is associated with your pituitary gland, which is believed to play a major role in spirituality and the development of spiritual gifts.

The symbol for this Chakra is known as Ajna. It’s an upside-down triangle contained within a circle, with petals, leaves, or wings. The triangle represents the combination of mind, body, and spirit. It also indicates the knowledge, experience, and energy learned via the 5 Chakras below it, all being combined towards the Crown Chakra.

Throat Chakra

The Throat Chakra is found within your throat and represents your ability to express yourself, communicate effectively, and understand what those around you are trying to tell you. This includes our ability to express ourselves through creative outlets:

  • Color: Blue
  • Element: Ether
  • Mantra: Ham (I speak and think with clarity)

Through exploring the Chakra symbols meaning, we find that the name for this one is Vishuddha. The symbol itself is a circle contained within an upside-down triangle which in itself is contained within a 16-petalled flower or sun.

Many believe that each petal represents a vowel of the Sanskrit language, and the use of petals represents the gentle and airy traits of these vowels, much like a petal being nudged by a light breeze.

Heart Chakra

The Heart Chakra is located within the center of your chest. Before we explore the Chakra symbols that we associate with it, we need to consider what this Chakra represents. The location near the heart is symbolic of this Chakras’ connection to love, compassion, empathy, and spiritual healing:

  • Color: Green
  • Element: Air
  • Mantra: Yam (Love is all things: I am open to love and open to giving love)

The Heart Chakra is located within the center of your chest. Before we explore the Chakra symbols that we associate with it, we need to consider what this Chakra represents. The location near the heart is symbolic of this Chakras’ connection to love, compassion, empathy, and spiritual healing.

The Anahata is one of the more commonly recognized Chakra symbols. It’s a 6-pointed star contained within a 12-petalled flower. The symbol itself represents the central nature of this Chakra, with it being the middle point between the other 6.

The number of petals and star-points are believed to represent the energy channels we all possess, there are also known as nadis. If we consider each point to represent 1,000 and do 6,000 x 12, we get 72,000 which is the number of energy channels we’re believed to possess.

chakra system

The human energy chakra system

Solar Plexus Chakra

The Solar Plexus Chakra can be found between the bottom of your ribcage and your belly button. This Chakra plays a major role in free-will and is often believed to connect deeply with our confidence and self-identity. When this Chakra becomes blocked, we can begin to feel like we’re losing ourselves to the world:

  • Color: Yellow
  • Element: Fire
  • Mantra: Ram (My heart’s desires and destiny are aligned)

The Manipura and its Chakra symbols meaning may seem a little similar to a previous Chakra symbol. This time we have another upside-down triangle contained within a ten-petalled flower.

It is believed that these 10 petals represent the pranas within your body, which tie into our manipulation of air and energy. Each person has 5 Upa Pranas and 5 Pranas. The triangle itself represents the concentration of energy as it builds higher and higher.

Sacral Chakra

One of the last Chakra symbols we’re going to explore connects to the Sacral Chakra, which is located in your lower abdomen. This Chakra connects to our raw, primal emotions. Keeping this Chakra clear is essential to maintaining control and balance of our emotional state. It also has ties to whether or not we’re able to accept ourselves for who we truly are:

  • Color: Orange
  • Element: Water
  • Mantra: Ura (Reality is the product of my mind)

When it comes to the Chakra symbols, the Swadhisthana reflects the Sacral Chakra. It shows two connected circles (one slightly bigger than the other) joined at the top, held within a lotus flower with 6 petals.

The circles are indicative of the cycles of the moon and held within the lotus flower represent the natural cycles of life and death, which always begin again with rebirth.

Root Chakra

The last of the Chakra symbols connect to the Root Chakra, which is located towards your tailbone. This Chakra is responsible for our survival instinct, our primal urges, and our connection to nature. All energy that is absorbed into the Chakra energy stream from the Earth enters through this initial Chakra:

  • Color: Red
  • Element: Earth
  • Mantra: Gum (I am supported by natural positive energy)

The symbol associated with this energy hub is known as the Muladhara, and it carries quite an unusual form. We find a small triangle within a square, within a circle, which in turn is held within a lotus flower with 4 leaves.

The small, upside-down triangle represents the growing of energy within our body, but it also reminds us to remain grounded and to maintain our connection with Mother Earth. The 4 petals represent the four states of mind: Ego, mind, intellect, and consciousness.

Discover some more interesting articles from Padre: